How to apply for Homestead Exemption in Pinellas County Florida
Homestead exemption is a constitutional benefit of a $50,000 exemption from the property's assessed value. It is granted to those applicants with legal or beneficial title in equity to real property as recorded in official records who are bona fide Florida residents living in a dwelling and making it their permanent home on January 1 of the taxable year.
The first $25,000 is entirely exempt. The second $25,000 is to be applied to the value between $50,000 and $75,000, and does not include school taxes. For example: If a home's assessed value is $75,000 or more, the owner would receive the full $50,000 exemption benefit. If the property value is between $50,000 and $75,000, he or she would receive a pro-rated exemption amount. (Example: If the property value is $65,000, the additional exemption would be $15,000, for a total exemption amount of $40,000 (the original $25,000 plus the prorated amount of $15,000).
The exemption results in approximately a $500 - $800 property tax savings to Florida residents.
When you purchase a home and want to qualify for an exemption, you may file online or in person at one of our offices. You may file anytime during the year, but before the state's deadline of March 1 for the tax year in which you wish to qualify. However, you are urged to file as soon as possible once you own, occupy and make that home your legal residence.
If you purchased your property after January 1, and your Notice of Proposed Property Tax, also known as Truth in Millage (TRIM), reflects a homestead exemption, this is an exemption which was granted to the prior owner, and will be removed on December 31. If you wish to qualify for an exemption for the following year, you must file an original application in one of our offices by March 1.
If you received your homestead exemption for the previous year and still occupy, own, and make that residence your permanent home, a receipt will be mailed to you early in January. You need to notify the Property Appraiser's office if you no longer qualify for these exemptions or you wish additional exemptions.
You no longer qualify for your exemption if: Property granted an exemption is sold or otherwise disposed of, if the property has been rented, when ownership changes in any manner, when the applicant for homestead exemption ceases to use the property as his or her homestead, or when the status of the owner changes so as to change the exempt status of the property. 196.011 (9) (a) F.S.
Bring the following evidence of residency and qualifications for all owners, including spouses, when filing:
Note: Disclosure of your social security number is mandatory. It is required by section 196.011(1), Florida Statutes. The social security number will be used to verify taxpayer information, homestead exemption information submitted to Property Appraisers.
- Florida Automobile Registration and Driver License
- If registered to vote, your Pinellas County Voter ID card or numbered Permanent Resident Card or other evidence of permanent resident status
- Proper certification for a disability exemption
- A death certificate or obituary notice for widow's/widower's exemption
- Social security numbers for all owners and spouses (required even if spouses are separated or if only one is on the deed)
Pinellas County Homes for Sale
Included below are homes for sale in Pinellas County. If you would like more information on any of these Pinellas County real estate listings, just click the "Request More Information" button when viewing the details of that property. We can provide you with disclosures, past sales history, dates and prices of homes recently sold nearby, and more.
And, if you haven't already, be sure to register for a free account so that you can receive email alerts whenever new Pinellas County listings come on the market.
Post a Comment